Paleo Challenge – Part 1

I am currently undertaking the hardest part of my new lifestyle. The Paleo Diet, it is not a diet that is intended for me to wean off of. It is not created for me to use for 3-6 months and then go back to old habits. This is where it starts. I am a Carb Junkie, I love Pasta, breaded chicken, fried chicken, and have one hell of a sweet tooth.

I feel like I am in Rehab…well what I would imagine rehab to feel like anyway.

I see people eating pasta, and I instantly start salivating. It’s not pretty, I’ll spare you the picture.

Anyway, there are a lot of newer CF’ers at our box. I am going to spare you the reasons behind why we are doing the challenge in the fashion that we are. If you would like to read more about it, you can visit that post by clicking here.

The first week was hard, I moved and cooking wasn’t convenient. It was difficult to make sure that I ate the appropriate foods, and didn’t carb binge because it was there. The second week was a bit easier, we got settled in our new place and finally had some sense of settled. That being said, we came up with some great creations.

It really helped myself realize that eating primal (the basis for paleo) didn’t have to be boring. You can really make some amazing foods with good, high quality ingredients. One of my favorite sites to visit is PaleOMG.com. It is written by a fellow Crossfitter and self described food hoarder. Not only does she provide some amazing foods, and dips to make to keep you on track with paleo ideals, but she is also pretty funny too! There is a link to her site on the right column of this page.

Take a look around at some of these sites below. See the recipes, read the reasons behind people switching to these nutritional plans, and make the decision for yourself. I can guarantee you will not regret it.

  • The Foodee Project – A site that consolidates all the available Paleo bloggers and recipe creators out there. Gives you a visual grid of recipes to look at, if it looks good it probably is. The cool thing about this site is it allows you to automatically generate a recipe list based off of what ingredients are called for. Makes the whole shopping process a little bit easier…If only they could do that in an iPhone app too!
  • PaleOMG – Even if you don’t want to switch your nutrition plan, take a look at Julie’s site because this girl if funny! She also has some awesome food choices, and as her website tag line says: “Real Food, Real Life, Real Simple.”
  • Civilized Caveman – George is an Active duty USMC since 7/2002. Another great source of information to use and as you will see I am a huge fan of supporting those who protect our daily lifestyles everyday. Check it out, you won’t regret it.

These four sites will lead you to other sites, who will lead you to other sites. As you can see the six degrees of separation are incredible because once you get connected and get motivated to change your lifestyle for the better, the amount of support you have access to is amazing.

So the real reason I wrote this post was to talk about my progress. I think the challenge is progressing well. It is hard for someone like myself who has ate like crap for so long to rapidly change those bad habits. I am happy to report that I am down 15 pounds in the first 2 weeks of the challenge. I do feel more energized, and ready to face the day. When I wake up in the morning, I actually feel like I slept and not like my head just hit the pillow. All of these are great things, and its only the first 2 weeks of the challenge.

Feel free to share ideas, struggles, or successes down below and tell me how you are doing with your challenge. It doesn’t have to be strictly related to nutrition, we all have our own personal battles that we need support to overcome.

One response to “Paleo Challenge – Part 1

  1. Pingback: Is a No Rep, Really a “No Rep?” « Pursuing My Evolution

Go ahead...talk about it here:

